The John W. Ryan Award for Distinguished Contributions to International Programs and Studies honors faculty who have made exceptional contributions to international programs and engagement, which have had a sustainable impact on the students and faculty of the university.

Initiated in 1991, the award is named for late Indiana University President Emeritus John W. Ryan, who led the university from 1971 to 1987 and was instrumental in fostering IU’s commitment to excellence in international education.

The award is presented at the spring Celebration of Distinguished Teaching and is accompanied by a certificate and a cash award.

Eligibility and Application

Up to two awards are given annually to tenure-line, full-time faculty members. The Office of University Ceremonies conducts the application process. Only electronic dossiers are accepted.

Learn more about the nomination process, dossier preparation, and past recipients »